Curriculum Information for Incoming Freshmen

Welcome to Lake Forest High School!! As you consider your course options for the upcoming school year, please take the time to view each video for a better understanding of the many courses and experiences we offer. We want you to have a well-balanced schedule. Consider courses that will challenge you academically and courses that will allow you to create, explore, and grow.

Our staff has been preparing for your arrival. Next year, we are offering a new Social Studies course (World History and Geography) for all freshmen that will be highly engaging and interactive. You will have the opportunity to experience a learning environment that will equip you with foundational skills and content knowledge to support your success in all Social Studies courses during your four years. In Science, we have made improvements to our Biology course. In addition to being immersed in a dynamic learning environment, our Biology course will support students in learning science while also improving literacy and executive functioning skills. These are just a couple of ways that we have been preparing. As you watch the departmental videos, you will definitely learn more. 

The videos were created to introduce you to our courses. Paired with our Student Course Guides, you will have a lot of information to review. All of us are here to support you. If you have questions or something is unclear, please do not hesitate to contact us. 

You will also have an opportunity to learn more and ask questions when you attend The Scout Experience. While the videos focus on our course offerings, The Scout Experience is intended to broaden your perspective of all of the opportunities you will have at LFHS, both inside and outside of the classroom. We value student membership (belonging), participation (engagement), and learning (academic success). By attending The Scout Experience, you will get a better sense of the variety of ways our values are enacted every single day at LFHS. 

We look forward to supporting you through the start of an important and exciting journey!!

curriculum videos

Business Education

Alan Wahlert, Instructional Director
awahlert@lfschools.net
(847) 582-7334
 

Educational Services

Patrick Sassen, Director
psassen@lfschools.net
(847) 582-7363

Fine & Applied Arts

Applied Tech | Art | Media | Music
Darren Barndt, Instructional Director
dbarndt@lfschools.net
(847) 582-7302

Science

Ryan Abrams, Instructional Director
rabrams@lfschools.net
(847) 582-7787

Special Education

Joey Kowalik, Assistant Director
jkowalik@lfschools.net
(847) 582-7708

Jenny Sterpin, Director
jsterpin@lfschools.net
(847) 582-7766

Wellness/Health/
Driver Education

Michael Mizwicki, Instructional Director
mmizwicki@lfschools.net
(847) 582-7471

Career Connections

Jim Sullivan, Assistant Principal of
Enrichment & Engagement
jsullivan@lfschools.net
(847) 582-7702

English

Kristen Carlson, Instructional Director
kcarlson@lfschools.net
(847) 582-7411

MATHEMATICS


Jeff Summy, Instructional Director
jsummy@lfschools.net
(847) 582-7779

Social Studies

Stephen Dunn, Instructional Director
sdunn@lfschools.net
(847) 582-7378

Theater

Joe Pulio, Department Lead
jpulio@lfschools.net
(847) 582-7307
 

Ashleigh Malec, Student Activities Director
amalec@lfschools.net
(847) 582-7772


World Language

Rachel Abel, Instructional Director
rabel@lfschools.net
(847) 582-7338