The Driver Education program provides instruction to help students acquire appropriate and effective driving skills. It is the goal of the department to identify driving risks and influence individual decision making in order for students to become safe and defensive drivers. We conduct an integrated two-phase program. We also participate in the Cooperative Licensing Program endorsed by the Secretary of State.
Driver Education Course Fee = $350
(invoice will be mailed home once student is behind the wheel)
Driver Education Eligibility Dates:
Summer 2015 up to June 1, 2000
Fall 2015 up to August 15, 2000
Spring 2016 up to January 15, 2001
Summer 2016 up to June 1, 2001
- How Eligibility works
- About the program
- State Requirements and Restrictions
- Permit Application Process
During the school year: Students become eligible to take Driver Education in order of birth date. Students born before January 1, 1997, are able to register for Driver Education 1st semester for the 2012-2013 School Year. Students born before July 1, 1997, may register for Driver Education 2nd semester for the 2012-2013 School Year. Also, please be advised that, according to a recently amended Illinois state law (HB0418), students are not eligible unless they “received a passing grade in at least 8 courses during the previous 2 semesters.” Priority is given to students who need to meet their graduation requirement or who must retake the course.
If, after these students register, there is space available in the class, we move down the list of birth dates for expanded eligibility. Students will be emailed at their school email account, allowing the opportunity to register for the earlier semester.
The Driver Education Department provides instruction to help students acquire appropriate and effective driving skills. It is the goal of the program to identify driving risks and influence individual decision making in order for students to become safe and defensive drivers.
DRIVER EDUCATION — 1/4 Unit of credit Freshmen, Sophomores, Juniors, Seniors
Students receive six hours of actual on the street driving to develop basic driving skills. Students also learn to read and interpret the traffic scene encountered on the road. Instruction is given in a vehicle equipped with a dual control brake by a certified instructor. This program participates in the Cooperative Licensing Program endorsed by the Secretary of State.
Summer Driver Education is a highly condensed program. This course demands daily driving practice outside of class. If you are unable to meet this requirement, please reconsider your enrollment. Students must be age 15 and must have accumulated 4 credits in the prior 2 semesters. Permit applications will not be issued until 2 weeks before the start of class. Classroom will meet 4 days per week Monday—Thursday) for 1 1/4 hours per day and Behind the Wheel (BTW) will meet every 3rd day for 1 1/2 hours. Any student who misses more than three classroom sessions or more than one BTW session will be withdrawn as State of Illinois requirements will not be met. Please be advised that according to a recently amended Illinois state law (HB0418) students are not eligible unless they have “received a passing grade in at least 8 courses during the previous 2 semesters.”
Each semester, students meet for two weeks of class during their scheduled driver education classroom period to utilized the beginning of the permit process. * The permit application and a letter to the parents/legal guardians will be given to your son/daughter at the beginning of the semester by the classroom teacher. The permit must be obtained within those two weeks, or they will not be able to drive in their “Behind the Wheel” class. All students must obtain their permit by the first drive. Here is the information you will need to aid them in obtaining their permit during those two weeks:
1) The application should be filled out in BLACK INK ONLY and signed by parent/legal guardian.
2) At any Secretary of State Office, your son/daughter must take the eye test and the written test based on the Rules of the Road booklet.
3) A check or money order made out to “The Secretary of State,” or cash in the amount of $20.00 must be paid at the time of the written test.
4) The following documentation is needed to obtain the permit (one from each category):
a) Student Signature: valid passport, bankcard, credit card, cancelled check
within 90 days, or a signed homework assignment.
b) Proof of Date of Birth: Certified Birth Certificate (NO copies)
c) Social Security Card: issued by the social security administration (NO copies)
It will be helpful to have when applying for the permit, but it is
REQUIRED to receive their license.
d) Residency: 2 items to verify residency: post marked mail or magazines within the last 90 days. For further questions regarding identification, please read your Rules of
the Road handbook, which will save you time when at the facility.
e) Medical Conditions: If your son/daughter has a special medical condition
requiring a Doctor’s note to drive, there is a required State form that can
be picked up from the classroom teacher.