8th Grade Activities Update
A Message from the Principal
Dear 8th Grade Parents/Guardians,
8th Grade Activities Update:
The 8th Grade EOY Awards Assembly will be held on Monday, May 23rd at 9:15am in the Auditorium. Parents will receive an email if their student will be presented with an award. Please park in the back of DPM and enter through door G.
Thursday, May 26th is 8th Grade Beach Day at the Lake Forest Beach (weather permitting). Students will be participating in games, activities and will be eating lunch at the beach. Students are encouraged to pack a lunch or can purchase a "grab and go" lunch from Quest. More information to follow. *There is no make-up date for Beach Day* Students must be in attendance the morning of Beach Day to be eligible to participate.
Friday, May 27th is a half day of school for all students (8:35am - 11:35am) and the 8th graders final day of school.
There is no school on Monday, May 30th for Memorial Day.
Graduation Ceremony Update:
We are excited to see you at our in-person graduation for the Class of 2022. There are some updates to the procedures and expectations for the event. Please read the information below to prepare for this special day.
Deer Path Middle School Class of 2022 Graduation Ceremony
May 31st, 2021 at 5 p.m. LFHS West Campus - 300 S. Waukegan Rd
Entrance, Blue Awning 
Graduation Day of Event Schedule
4:30 p.m. Graduate drop-off for staging
5:00 p.m. Ceremony begins
6:00 p.m. Conclusion of ceremony
Graduation Ceremony Logistics
The Class of 2022 8th grade graduation ceremony is scheduled for Tuesday, May 31 from 5:00-6:00pm. This year, we will return to hosting the ceremony at West Campus (300 Waukegan Road). For purposes of the ceremony, please note that your child's full name (first, middle, last) will be used as they are recorded in PowerSchool. Students will be seated in alphabetical order, and seats will be labeled and assigned accordingly.
VIP photography will be taking pictures of graduates as they cross the stage and receive their diploma. These photographs will be available one week after the ceremony, and information including the website and how to order will be included in the graduation booklet.
*If your student is not attending/participating in graduation, please email Linda Crowe, lcrowe@lfschools.net
Graduation Ceremony Attire 
Graduates are encouraged to dress appropriately for the ceremony. This includes a sports coat, collared shirt with tie, dress slacks, dress shoes or semi-formal dress/skirt of appropriate length, pantsuit. Students will not be wearing a graduation cap or gown. 
Graduation Celebration
The 8th grade graduation celebration, sponsored by the Deer Path Middle School Association of Parents and Teachers (APT) , is scheduled for Friday, May 27 from 7:30-9:00pm at the Winter Club (956 North Sheridan Road). The APT 8th Grade Activities Committee is responsible for hosting the graduation celebration. Parents may contact Shannon Shader at shannon_weed@icloud.com, if they are interested in helping with this special evening. 
Students must have a permission slip to attend. Please click here and complete the form as soon as possible.
8th Grade Graduation Yard Signs
The Graduation Committee will be dropping off graduation yard signs for students on Tuesday, May 24th and will be picked-up on Thursday, June 2nd.
8th Grade Class Patio Photo
To download a high-resolution of DPM's Class of 2022 photo, please visit: https://cecilygeorgephotography.shootproof.com/gallery/DPM-ClassOf2022
If you'd like to order a print, please contact Heidi Clifton at heidi@cecilygeorge.com for details and pricing. Thank you!
Service Hours and President's Volunteer Service Award
While service hours are highly encouraged, they are not mandatory. The window is now closed for the Presidential Service Award. The reporting period for the President's Volunteer Service Award was May 3, 2021 - May 2, 2022. All other community service hours can be submitted up through the end of day on May 31st, 2022.
Thomas Herion
In partnership with the Class of 2021-2022 Graduation APT Activities Committee: Meg Lynch, Kristen Esplin, Jodi Brown, Nancy Pienkosz & Shannon Shader