Creative Arts

BAND, ORCHESTRA, CHORUS - Grades 5-8

Instrumental and vocal music instruction is provided for students interested in developing their musical talents. Small group lessons are provided during the school day. Full band, orchestra, and choral group rehearsals are held according to grade level schedules. The performing groups participate in several concerts each year. Concert selections are drawn from a wide range of musical styles including classical, jazz, popular, folk, and rock.

Music, DramA, STEM, and Art - Grades 5/6 

In Music, students will sing, dance, drum, and play a variety of other instruments. They will learn to improvise, compose and accompany their own songs and end with a General Music Show.

In Drama, students will work on the acting process through building self-awareness and self-esteem physically, emotionally and vocally. Students will get to perform at the end of each semester.
 
In STEM, students focus on four disciplines: Science, Technology, Engineering, and Math in an interdisciplinary and applied approach. STEM challenges learners to think critically, problem-solve, collaborate and communicate as they engage in personally relevant learning.

In Art, students work with a variety of art materials and are introduced to various artistic styles. They will work individually and in groups while being challenged on their ideas of what art is as well as their ability to recognize problems and effectively solve them.

News

2020 Best Communications for Music Education Banner

For the 3rd year in a row, District 67 has been honored with the Best Communities for Music Education designation from The NAMM Foundation for its outstanding commitment to music education.

Now in its 22nd year, the Best Communities for Music Education designation is awarded to districts that demonstrate outstanding achievement in efforts to provide music access and education to all students..

Read more about D67's Music Education Program Receives National Recognition
2021 Best Communities for Music Education

Gina De Gregorio
Band Director 5-8
gdegregorio@lfschools.net

Corey Ames
Band Director 5-8
cames@lfschools.net

Dr. Diane Rener
Orchestra 5-8
drener@lfschools.net

Sarah Truding
Orchestra 5-8
struding@lfschools.net

Sara Mokrzycka
Vocal Music 5-8
smokrzycka@lfschools.net

Dr. Sabiha Rahman
STEM 5/6
srahman@lfschools.net

Dr Jean Hersey
Music 5/6
jhersey@lfschools.net

Maria Galluzzi
Art 5/6
mgalluzzi@lfschools.net

Chana Wilcyznski
Drama 5/6
cwilczynski@lfschools.net